Day 62 of 365 Days With God

Over the course of the next week or so, I want to ask you to think about yourself with some great detail. In doing so, I want you to ask yourself two questions.

1. What are the gifts God has given me to share with others?

2. Am I using those gifts to the fullest, giving God greater glory and building up his kingdom on earth?

You may have this already figured out and your answers may come quickly. But most folks will require a little more time and reflection. In fact, if you really want to dig in and understand what God is calling you to do, may I suggest you ask him. You may even want to jot down a few things alongside as a personal inventory.

God has given you a charism/gift to share with the world. “The word ‘charism’ comes from the greek charis, meaning grace, free gift. ‘Spiritual gifts’ termed charisms are gifts given for the benefit of of the common good, for the building of the church.” 1.

This gift is something that comes very natural to you. I promise you have one, or more than one! It is something, that when communicated, gives you great joy and peace; although it is not meant for only you!  This gift that God has given you, by the power of his holy Spirit, will help bring others to experience the love and healing power of Christ.  “They (charisms) must be lived out in a spirit of service. They are always received by an individual according to his or her qualities, limits, tendencies, or faults.”2 Remember, “The Holy Spirit bestows His gifts on unexpected people and places and in surprising ways.”3

In the book of 1st Peter we read,10 “As each one has received a special gift, employ it in serving one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. 11 Whoever speaks, is to do so [a]as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving [b]by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 4:10-11

Our Lord wants you to experience a fullness with Him. He wants you to be on fire for him so you can ignite the flame of faith in others.  He wants to fill you with his grace and goodness. He wants to make you holy. He also wants you to know yourself, and in doing so, know him! Can you willingly surrender yourself to him so he can mold you into the image of his Son?

Over the next couple of weeks, I thought it might be a nice refresher for all of us to explore and reflect on these beautiful gifts and fruits of the Holy Spirit.

 “THINGS WHICH EYE HAS NOT SEEN AND EAR HAS NOT HEARD,  AND which HAVE NOT ENTERED THE HEART OF MAN, 
ALL THAT GOD HAS PREPARED FOR THOSE WHO LOVE HIM.” 1Corinthians 2:9

GOD BLESS YOU

St. Louis De Montfort,”Jesus Living in Mary: Handbook of the Spirituality of St. LouisDeMontfort,”http://www.ewtn.com/library/montfort/Handbook/Charism.htm

3 responses to “Day 62 of 365 Days With God

  1. As usual good post and peaceful reading. You know a few months back God asked me to do something, which I really did not know for sure if that is what He wanted me to do or not. So I asked Him, “Please give me a sign.” To which He replied, “I am going to send you a stray dog.” I love animals. Well I now have a 50 pound stray chocolate lab in my yard named, Beezy. So sometimes when I do not for sure know what He wants, I have to ask Him to show me somehow. Do you ever have those problems, knowing for sure, sure. How do you handle it? SR

    • Hi SR,
      What a great testimony you have to share about Beezy! It seems the two of you were meant for one another. I think we all struggle with the same things. I know I have had to learn some hard lessons in life. There were many times I had to take the long road, because I would get in front of God! When you make decisions without his perspective it can be a danger. So these days, I take a breath, I ask him to show me his will by keeping my gaze solely fixed on him, and trust he will give me the discernment to make the wise choices he wants me to make. He has given me a mind to reason and a heart to hear his voice. We do the best job we can do, and then we have to trust that we have made the best possible choice. I am grateful to God that He can make straight lines with our crooked ones, aren’t you?

      Have a great day,

      In Christ,
      Wendy

  2. Oh girl, you have no idea how grateful I am that He makes my crooked lines straight!!! I have so many crooked ones:>) I like that “He has given me a mind to reason and heart to hear His voice.” I will keep that one with me. Well have to run and see what day 63 has been. God Bless, SR

Leave a comment